top of page

School's in!

One of my first priorities since being elected has been to visit all the schools in the area, to get to know the principals and school communities, see what’s happening in the schools and build a connection between them and my office.

We know schools are fundamentally important because they’re educating our kids, but they’re also an integral part of the community. They’re hubs of activity and provide a strong connection to local families. I wanted to hear what our local educators think are the biggest priorities, challenges and opportunities for their communities.

I have already had some valuable feedback from schools including Lindisfarne Primary, Howrah Primary, Corpus Christi and Eastside Lutheran College, and it has been a wonderful experience touring classrooms and meeting students and staff. I also met with Bellerive Primary Principal Steven Hay, who is retiring after 16 years at the school.

One of the highlights for me so far has been spending time at the Southern Support School. Students come from as far afield as Dover and Triabunna to attend the school, and we are very fortunate to have it on our doorstep in Howrah.

I am looking forward to connecting with more schools in the new year.


Picture: With Lindisfarne Primary School Principal Kel Innis.



11 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page